BIBLE Terms Torah


- Info:

- Torah on Hebrew means teaching.

- Torah is collection of Jewish scriptures defining law and religion of Judaism.

- Torah is divided into 5 books: The Books of Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy.

- Torah is also known as 5 books of

- In Christianity Torah is also refered as the Pentateuch=FiveBooks from Greek penta=five and teuchos=book.

- The Torah is the first of three parts of the Tanakh.

- According to Jewish tradition the Torah was revealed to Moses, in 1312 BCE at Mount Sinai.

Text Zohar states that Torah was created prior to creation of the world, and that it was used as blueprint for Creation.

According to Blenkinsopp its books were completed centuries later in the Persian period.

- Torah is accepted by Christianity as part of the Bible, comprising the first five books of the Old Testament.

- It is also accepted in the religion of Islam as a Holy Book.